4 gadgets a Mum needs for being social media savvy

Can I call myself a media savvy mum? I guess so.

I have an active Facebook account and Facebook page, my twitter is active, I have earned some badges on FourSquare, I made some awesome video on YouTube *winks*, I took some cool pictures and share it on Flickr and most of all I have this blog that link the whole things around me. And on top of that, I am a mum a housewife, I run everything from home  … so YES! you can label me that, for sure :)

Allow me to introduce you to the 4 primary gadgets I use for being *media savvy mum*


my smartphone, I just can not live without it. It is Motorola Milestone run on Android application. This is the most important gadget that connect me with the rest of my social media link. I check my email, Facebook notice, write my blog, taking my picture or video and upload it to Flickr or Youtube using this phone. Furthermore, I really love Android application on it. I have installed many FREE applications on it, to help me easily manage things around. I have Google calendar that alert me from time to time what I need to do or to go to on specific day. I have my Qur’an application that allow me to listen to the recitation and read the meaning wherever I am on the move, be it inside the bus, train or waiting for the bus. I browse and read a lot of stuff from this phone as well whenever I am on the go. I probably will upgrade this Android phone next year from something better. Preferable to Sonny Erickson XPEria, there is no better camera phone than Sonny Erickson and there is no better smart phone application than Android, and XPERia has them both!

The 2nd gadget is my LAPTOP off course. It is Acer Aspire 4937G. I am not a desktop person for about 10 years now. Since I moved to Singapore and worked here, I was always on a laptop, and this continue until now even I am no longer going to any office cubicle. I prefer laptop for many different reasons. It is flexible, you can easily move it around as you like and place it anywhere in the house. Furthermore, the current Laptop do better performance than earlier model, it is fast. I play games, listen to my playlist, watch movie, blogging, chatting, browsing, email-ing, cam chatting, video making and many more you name it from my laptop. So YES! laptop is a must.

The 3rd tool I have is my net-book, 10 inch size or mini laptop what people call it. It is Acer model too. I prefer to have a net-book instead of IPAD. I am very traditional and I love keypad when I type, so net-book is the solution. I need this to carry around with me. Sometimes when I have to wait for my daughter in the class or playing at the playground, I prefer to do most of my things on my net-book, not on the smart phone. The screen resolution and size help my eyes work better, as well as the speed and clarity when I do browsing. I blog, browse and listen to music mostly from this gadget while waiting for my daughter. I love it’s size so it can easily go inside my bag without hassle. Sometimes I don’t even bring the electric cable with it, cause the battery life is just nice for my need in one particular day. I might upgrade this one as well by the end of this year. I am giving out my current one to my mom back home in Indonesia. I am looking for something faster than Accer, I need higher speed on performance. I am still browsing now for which brand to buy.

The 4th gadget is My digital compact camera. It is Casio Exilim.  I carry this with me most of the time too. I need this mostly for video taking. I need a good camera that can help me record a video. I love making movie and published it to Youtube. It is a fun hobby and keep my toes active for being creative all the time. Currently I am using Casio Exilim 10 MP camera. I am looking for upgrading this to a new camera by end of this year too. I am thinking of getting Olympus Pen, everyone is talking about this new super gadget SLR camera with compact size. I have browsed around and see what kind of product this camera produce, and I think I made up my mind that I will go for Olympus Pen by end of this year too.

SO … Yeah! those are the BASIC 4 gadgets I need to run my social media LIFE in day-to-day.

12 thoughts on “4 gadgets a Mum needs for being social media savvy

  1. Pingback: Fairy Pictures » Post Topic » Fairy Pictures | Fantasy Football, Paypal Alternatives, Chatting Online

  2. Have and use everything you mentioned to run mine too :-) the difference is, i do not maximize their use yet.

    Some time… I forget to bring my cameera when i go out…only to regret when i come across something interesting to capture! Luckily most of the times i can use my smartphone as substitute. Though of course the quality of pics is so so-so Hehehe…

  3. Hey, Kelly here. There is reason to believe that your website will become very popular if it’s not already… I’m fairly good at finding an up and coming blog, since I’ve worked in this field for a while and I think that if you keep at it you’ll definitely start seeing a lot of visitors and potentially income from your blog, keep it up!

  4. Hey, Kelly here. There is reason to believe that your website will become very popular if it's not already… I'm fairly good at finding an up and coming blog, since I've worked in this field for a while and I think that if you keep at it you'll definitely start seeing a lot of visitors and potentially income from your blog, keep it up!

Comments are closed.